2016-12-28 17:14:00

Papal nominations

(Vatican Radio) Pope Francis has named Cardinal Stanisław Ryłko, President emeritus of the Pontifical Council for the Laity, as Archpriest and Administrator of the Papal Basilica of Saint Mary Major. He succeeds Cardinal Santos Abril y Castelló, whose resignation from the position was accepted by the Holy Father.

Pope Francis also made a number of other personnel changes on Tuesday.

The Holy Father accepted the resignation of Bishop Richard G Lennon from the pastoral governance of the Diocese of Cleveland, USA.

On Monday, Pope Francis named Father Joseph Marie Ndi-Okalla as Bishop of the Diocese of Mbalmayo, Cameroon. Father Ndi-Okalla is a priest of the Diocese. He will succeed Bishop Adalbert Ndzana.

For the diocese of Crato, Brazil, Pope Francis has appointed Bishop Gilberto Pastana de Oliveira, who has been serving as Coadjutor Bishop for the Diocese, to succeed Bishop Fernando Panico, M.S.C. following the acceptance of Bishop Panico’s resignation.

And also in Brazil, Pope Francis has accepted the resignation of Archbishop Eduardo Benes de Sales Rodrigues from the pastoral governance of the Archdiocese of Sorocaba; and appointed Bishop Júlio Endi Akamine, S.A.C., who has been serving as an Auxiliary Bishop in Sao Paolo, as his successor.

All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©.