2016-11-19 12:36:00

Titular churches of new Cardinals

(Vatican Radio) The Vatican has announced the titles and diaconates of the Cardinals who were created by Pope Francis on Saturday.

The cardinalate historically is related to the senior clergy of the Church of Rome, and even now all Cardinals are assigned a parish church in Rome as their titular church. All Cardinals created before their 80th birthday are required to be Bishops, and all Cardinals, of whatever age, are currently priests; however, when being assigned their titular churches, new Cardinals are placed in the respective orders of Cardinal Bishop, Cardinal Priest, or Cardinal Deacon.

At Saturday’s consistory, the newly-created Cardinals were assigned the following Roman churches:

All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©.