2015-07-24 12:00:00

Members and substitutes for the Synod of Bishops

(Vatican Radio)  Pope Francis on Friday confirmed more members and substitutes for the Fourteenth Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, which will take place from October 4-25, 2015, under the theme "The vocation and mission of the family in the Church and in the contemporary world."

For a listing of other members and substitutes confirmed for the Synod on the Family, see our previous posts on 26 March and 16 June.

The following is a list of the members and substitutes appointed by the competent entities and ratified by the Holy Father on 24 July.


Ivory Coast

Member:  Bishop Ignace BESSI DOGBO, of Katiola, President of the National Episcopal Commission for the Apostolate of the Laity


Member:  Bishop Juan MATOGO OYANA, C.M.F., of Bata


Member:  Archbishop Paulino LUKUDU LORO, M.C.C.J., of Juba

Substitute:  Bishop Michael Didi Adgum MANGORIA, of El Obeid


Member:  Bishop Xavier Johnsai MUNYONGANI, of Gweru



Member:  Bishop Miguel Ángel CABELLO ALMADA, of Concepción in Paraguay

Substitute:  Bishop Pierre Laurent JUBINVILLE, C.S.Sp., of San Pedro



2nd Substitute:  Bishop Lawrence Pius DORAIRAJ, of Dharmapuri


Member:  Archbishop Ramzi GARMOU, of Teheran of the Chaldeans, Patriarchal Administrator of Ahwaz of the Chaldeans

Substitute:  Titular Archbishop Neshan KARAKÉHÉYAN, of Adana of the Armenians, Patriarchal Administrator of Ispahan, Esfáan of the Armenians


Member:  Bishop Silvio Siripong CHARATSRI, of Chanthaburi

Substitute:  Archbishop Louis CHAMNIERN SANTISUKNIRAN, of Thare and Nonseng

East Timor

Member: Bishop Basílio DO NASCIMENTO, of Baucau, President of the Bishop's Conference

Substitute:  Bishop Norberto DO AMARAL, of Maliana


International Bishops' Conference of the Saints Cyril and Methodius

Member:  Bishop Ladislav NEMET, S.V.D., of Zrenjanin in Serbia


Member:  Archbishop Zbignevs STANKEVIČS, of Riga

Substitute:  Bishop Jānis BULIS, of Rēzekne-Aglona, President of Bishop’s Conference


Member:  Bishop Teemu SIPPO, S.C.I., of Helsinki in Finland

Substitute:  Bishop Czeslaw KOZON, of Copenhagen in Denmark


Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands

Member:  Bishop Anton BAL, of Kundiawa, “Commission for Family Life”

All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©.