2012-09-18 11:59:41

Vatican: Synod Fathers named

(Vatican Radio) – Pope Benedict XVI has named the Synod Fathers for the XIII Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, which will take place 7 to 28 October 2012 on the theme "The New Evangelization for the Transmission of the Christian Faith". The list of Synod Fathers was published Tuesday and includes:

Angelo SODANO, Dean of the College of Cardinals;
Joachim MEISNER, Archbishop of Cologne, Germany;
Vinko PULJIČ, Archbishop of Vrhbosna (Bosnia ed Erzegovina);
Polycarp PENGO, Archbishop of Dar-es-Salaam (Tanzania), Presidente of the Symposium des Conférences Episcopales d’Afrique et de Madagascar (S.C.E.A.M.);
Christoph SCHÖNBORN, O.P., Archbishop of Vienna (Austria);
George PELL, Archbishop of Sydney (Australia);
Josip BOZANIĆ, Archbishop of Zagreb (Croatia);
Péter ERDŐ, Archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest (Hungary), President of the Consilium Conferentiarum Episcoporum Europae (C.C.E.E.);
Agostino VALLINI, Vicar General for the diocese of Rome;
Lluís MARTÍNEZ SISTACH, Archbishop of Barcelona (Spain);
André VINGT-TROIS, Archbishop of Paris (France);
Oswald GRACIAS, Archbishop of Mumbai (India), Secretary General of the Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences (F.A.B.C.);

Francesco MORAGLIA, Patriarch of Venice;
John Olorunfemi ONAIYEKAN, Archbishop of Abuja (Nigeria);
Héctor Rubén AGUER, Archbishop of La Plata (Argentina);
Antonio ARREGUI YARZA, Archbishop of Guayaquil (Ecuador), President of the Conferencia Episcopal Ecuatoriana;
John Atcherley DEW, Archbishop of Wellington (New Zealand), President of the Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania (F.C.B.C.O.);
José Octavio RUIZ ARENAS, Archbishop emeritus of Villavicencio, Secretary of the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of the New Evangelisation;
José Horacio GÓMEZ, Archbishop of Los Angeles (USA);
Carlos AGUIAR RETES, Archbishop of Tlalnepantla (Messico), President of the Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.AM.);
Bernard LONGLEY, Archbishop of Birmingham (Great Britain);
Ricardo Antonio TOBÓN RESTREPO, Archbishop of Medellín (Colombia);
Luis Antonio G. TAGLE, Archbishop of Manila (Philippines);
Filippo SANTORO, Archbishop of Taranto (Italy).

Javier ECHEVARRÍA RODRÍGUEZ, titular bishop of Cilibia, Prelate of the personal Prelature of Opus Dei;
Dominique REY, bishop of Fréjus-Toulon (France);
Menghesteab TESFAMARIAM, M.C.C.J., Eparch of Asmara (Eritrea);
Benedito Beni DOS SANTOS, bishop of Lorena (Brazil);
Santiago Jaime SILVA RETAMALES, titular bishop of Bela, Auxiliary of Valparaiso (Chile), Secretary General of Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (C.E.L.AM.);
Luigi NEGRI, bishop of San Marino-Montefeltro (Italy);
Alberto Francisco María SANGUINETTI MONTERO, bishop of Canelones (Uruguay); Enrico DAL COVOLO, S.D.B., titular bishop of Eraclea, Rector of the Pontifical Lateran University, Rome.

Reverend Fathers:
Julián CARRÓN, President of the Fraternity of Communion and Liberation;Renato SALVATORE, M.I., Superior General of the Clerks Regular, Ministers to the sick, (Camillians);
Heinrich WALTER, Superior General of the Schönstatt Fathers;
Jose PANTHAPLAMTHOTTIYIL, C.M.I., Prior General of the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate.

All the contents on this site are copyrighted ©.